Mother’s Day (video below)

May 10, 2010

I never thought that I would spend my first mothers day as a mommy, standing up in front of thousands of people, sharing the deepest parts of my heart and story.

Our church has been going through a series called, “The Generous Life”, and last week, our pastor talked about how generosity is borne out of an encounter with a generous God and  how generosity has nothing to do with what you have.

As he was speaking, my heart was just overwhelmed, thinking back over this adoption journey with the generosity we have encountered.

The generosity of God…giving us a little boy who is far greater than we could have ever asked or imagined.

The generoisty of people…hundreds of encounters with those who gave to us from their hearts, to bring new life to a child.

So, after the service last Sunday, I wrote our pastor an email expressing how grateful I am for the generosity of people from our church in my life. He wrote back and said, “I think you should share your story on Sunday…on Mother’s Day.”

What???

If you know me, you know that I enjoy writing for people (hence, the blog). I enjoy singing in front of people too. But talking in front of people…and not just talking, but sharing the depths of my heart? My back gets sweaty just thinking about it.

But, I was reminded that this story is not my story. It is God’s story..a far greater story than I could have ever written for myself. I thought about how difficult mother’s day is for so many people and the opportunity to share in the pain of the day, along with the hope of this day, was something that excited me.

So, I said “ok, I will share.”

So on my first mother’s day, God gave me a beautiful, redemptive gift. A barren woman sharing about being a mom.

A woman who normally spends mother’s day with tears in her eyes in a church bathroom is standing on stage sharing her story.

I am grateful for the gift of a son, I am grateful for the gift of a story that God has written in my life, I am grateful for God’s deep grace.

Updates:

  • Dima continues to check out very healthy with doctors
  • there are a few minor, correctable issues and a few more tests still to be done

Prayer Requests:

  • one of those tests is an EKG for our little guy. Pray that there is nothing serious with his little heart

Until next Monday, love Kate & Steve.

12 Responses to “Mother’s Day (video below)”

  1. Penelope said

    What a great story! I too celebrated my first Mother’s Day as a mommy. Look forward to hearing more.

  2. april said

    how wonderful that you were able to share your story and give God the glory for all He has done for you on Mother’s day…God continues to amaze me!

  3. kirsten said

    can’t wait to see it again!

  4. Brooke said

    Hi Steve & Kate,
    I’ve followed your blog for awhile but never posted. This was my first Mother’s Day feeling the pain that you described very well. When our Sr. Pastor mentioned infertile couples in his prayer on Sunday, I definitely had the ugly cry going that makes other people feel awkward. And, I just had it again watching this.

    Your story points so directly to God’s glory. Never stop sharing it!

  5. Light said

    I really enjoyed this posting. Somehow I found your blog a few weeks ago and now it’s the highlight of my Mondays. Your story is incredible… so hard but so shared and so full of hope. Congratulations on your first mother’s day.
    I can’t go to church anymore because of what you said… every Sunday (not only on mother’s day) I would pray for a baby and start crying… I think people thought I had some kind of mental issue after a while. So I stoped going.
    This mother’s day however I wasn’t so sad. Now I have hope again that through international adoption I will be a mom too… maybe next year?!
    Keep writing.

  6. Allison said

    What a beautiful story you and Steve have to share. God has really blessed you immensely and through your story, I know several others have been touched.
    I had tears in my eyes through the video and you were amazing! Such strength you have and immense beauty in how you deliver your words. God is so good!

  7. Sarah said

    That was amazing. You did a wonderful job in sharing your heart and journey.
    Looking back, I realise that letting people share your struggles allows God to increase their faith as they pray on your behalf. It can be hard to put yourself ‘out there’ when you are in such a vulnerable place, but thank you for doing it, your story has touched people in ways you will never know.
    Our children have been home for over two years now and I now find that on Mother’s Day I don’t want to forget those hard Mother’s Days, but rather remember there are still women crying in the bathroom, women who need to hear our stories that being a Mum is so much more than being pregnant, that God has a plan for our lives, that amazing joy can come out of brokeness.

  8. Marie said

    What a lovely story and video! If I may make a gentle correction: you are not a “barren woman”! It’s a negative and inaccurate expression. In fact, you are very fertile. Just look at what you’ve produced in your heart and your home: a family.

  9. Erin said

    Kate, thank you for sharing your amazing story. Loving you through Christ, erin 🙂

  10. Amy said

    I loved your story, Kate. It brought me to tears. My situation was very similar. We just brought our little girl home late last year and she is truly a gift from God. Like you, we didn’t know how we would afford this but somehow through a lot of hard work on our part, some minor donations, and two loans, we were able to make our dream a reality. I believe that God was there every step of the way and he was just waiting for the right moment because he had her in mind for us. I just celebrated my first Mother’s Day and I remember a time when it brought me great sadness.

  11. Kris said

    Your story is one that will touch people’s lives and explain in simple pictures the nature of God’s grace and love for us. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  12. Karen said

    Kate, you did a beautiful job sharing your story and I love reading your blog. I regret that I didn’t share more of your journey but am glad that I found out when I did. Your writing is so expressive with illustrations that I can understand and relate to. God has used each of your blog entries to challenge my heart. You’re such a blessing and I’m so proud of you! I’m praising God for His goodness in guiding you through the things He’s had planned for you. He continues to care for us too. We’re thoroughly enjoying Hayley & Dustin (both in college now and serving as camp counselors this summer) and Lacey who is still good “therapy” for all of us. She recently realized that if Logan was here she’d have someone to play with all the time. 🙂 My heart still aches sometimes and usually on Mother’s Day I’m thinking about heaven and how wonderful it will be to all be together again. Enjoy being together! I’m so happy for you all. Sending a hug!

Leave a Reply

