At Last

October 20, 2009

Wow.  I’m not even sure that I have the words, or even that there are words to describe our day today. Because of how we are updating the blog, we will have to keep this post shorter, but when we get home, we’ll have plenty of time to fill you in on all of the details of our time in Russia.

This morning, we went to the orphanage. It is about a 45 minute drive from our host family’s house. We drove through a lot of countryside before finally reaching a small village.

As we pulled up to the orphanage, I could feel my heart pounding out of its chest. This is it. This is the moment we’ve been waiting for praying for, thinking about. We walked inside and up the stairs of this very clean building. We proceeded into the office of the orphanage doctor. She was very kind and shared a lot of our little guy’s story with us. We had all of our questions answered.

Suddenly there was a knock on the door. Before we had a chance to prepare,  in walked a caretaker with our precious little one following right behind. He had on these cute little denim overalls with a sweater underneath. His big beautiful eyes met ours and I knelt down and wrapped my arms around him.

meeting our little guy for the 1st time (we're not allowed to show his face)

meeting our little guy for the 1st time (we're not allowed to show his face)

He curiously looked around and we started playing right away with his new little Tonka truck. We were then instructed to move to a private room for some “family time” with him. And that began the greatest hour of my life.

He is the sweetest little darling. Once he got used to us, Steve picked him up way over his head and then brought him down and kissed his neck and he just laughed and laughed. He had the biggest smile and sweetest giggle. He loved to be held and cuddled and kissed.

I carried him around the room and sang pop goes the weasel. He thought that was the funniest thing. He would just look at me and we’d start laughing so hard together. We put him down to see if he wanted to gravitate towards the toys or the banana that we had been feeding him, but he just walked right over to Steve for some more cuddles. It was absolutely precious.

We can’t wait to see him tomorrow. We are praying for more of the same. God has blown us away with His goodness and we attribute that to His lovingkindness and your prayers. Please keep the prayers coming. We sense them and are watching them come alive right before our eyes. God is good. He is faithful. And we are overwhelmed with blessing…much more than we could have asked for or imagined.

Updates:

  • we get to see our little guy again tomorrow, this time after lunch
  • We will update our twitter feed as many times as we can

Prayer Requests:

  • that we would continue to bond with our little man!!!

More to come: twitter.com/goingtorussia

Love, Kate & Steve

28 Responses to “At Last”

  1. Victoria said

    Congratulations! Giggles so soon?! That is fantastic! What a great picture – thanks for sharing. Can’t wait to hear every little detail. He is a lucky little boy –

    Victoria

  2. Helen Allphin said

    My heart is full and tears are in my eyes. I love you so much and can’t wait to meet this precious little one. Praying in for you here in Uniontown! Love, Helen

  3. Stephanie Karasek said

    Congratulations! I can’t stop the tears as I read this! I am so happy that your meeting went well! Enjoy your time with your sweet little boy!

  4. BJ Melbourne said

    Katie and Steve..I’m sitting here crying because when I saw you hugging your little one, I thought at long last God has let your baby be in your arms!! It’s so beautiful..God’s love is great!!love to you all…bj

  5. Kacey said

    You’ve got me in tears with goosebumps! Praise God! He is faithful, my friend! Woo HOO!

  6. Brenda said

    Looks like I’m not the only one who wept when I saw you holding him! As soon as I scrolled down and saw you there with your eyes closed, living your dream, I had to jump up and leave the room so my boys wouldn’t be worried about why I was crying. And then to read that you had him laughing and cuddling this very first time… oh KATE! I prayed for this, but I didn’t really dare to expect it!

    I’ve been refreshing your twitter page and this blog every half hour all morning… maybe I’ll be able to back off now with this wonderful news. But I’ll be checking back tomorrow. 🙂

  7. Mom Shug said

    My baby boy! At last! He is the luckiest boy alive- he just doesn’t know it yet!!!!! Thank you Lord!!!!

  8. jmconnersmith said

    It’s just too much, in the most wonderful way! In awe of our God. Thrilled for all three of you:)!

  9. Kristin said

    Love reading this!
    It’s like deja vu of Landon and Laura’s over the summer.
    He has a super-cute back of the head!

  10. Russ and Kate said

    Sounds like love at first sight for everyone!! 🙂 I’m so happy for you guys and can’t wait to hear more details and see his precious face!!!!! 🙂

  11. Robb and Paula said

    Your story takes our breath away. Tears of joy are flowing. We are in awe and so grateful. We are loving you and praying in Green.

  12. kirsten said

    YES!!! one of the best things about the day we first met our kids was walking away and feeling that it had been totally covered in prayer. i was praying you’d feel your time was covered too. 🙂 oh, everything you shared with us is just so precious and so amazing. i am in love with this story! 🙂 the prayers will not stop, ever. now off to dry my tears so i can see to cook dinner.

  13. Ronnie Lowe said

    My Sweet Katie,
    I am so excited I can’t stand it. I wanted to let you know something that happened last night. I went to bed knowing that you would be seeing our little guy in the middle of the night sometime. At 2:25 am I woke up. When I saw the time I thought, you and Steve may be seeing him soon, so I said a short little prayer. I looked over to see that your mom wasn’t in bed, so I figured she was downstairs checking the computer for any word from you guys. So, I went back to sleep. This morning I found out that your mom WAS in the room. She was laying face down on the floor, in prayer for over an hour for you, Steve and our little guy. So when you felt the prayers, I know they were coming from many people, and I know that your mom was totally with you in prayer. One more thing, I looked at one of the “extra” pictures you sent us and noticed a clock on the wall behind Steve and it read 10:25, exactly the time I woke up. Give our little guy a big hug from Pop!!! God is Good All the Time!!
    I love you,
    Dad

  14. jodi tucker said

    This is just all so cool, so God-ordained, so encouraging, so prayed for, and so all about His Love expressed to us through Jesus and now expressed again in the love of parents for their beloved son.
    Sure are lots of spiritual parallels here!!!

  15. eric said

    Amazing! I cried like a baby when I read this. Adrianne and I have been praying all throughout the day for you three. So glad your first time with him was so special! I can’t wait for Adrianne to come home and read this! We love you guys.

  16. Sarah said

    So glad for you and thanking God for his amazing plans..you’re right it is hard to find the words.

  17. Courtney said

    Oh my gosh, I’m in tears. Reading the paragraph before the picture and seeing the picture, I just let out a loud squeal. Haha! My fiance in the next room was like, “Are you okay?”
    This is sooo sooo wonderful. I will continue to pray for more bonding but it’s obvious you have already melted his heart and he yours.
    I can’t wait to meet the little guy!

  18. Mama Mary said

    There are no words. Thank You, Jesus!

  19. Adrianne said

    Eric told me you updated your blog when I called him on the way home from my class. He would not tell me what it said because he wanted me to read it myself. All he would tell me is that he cried tears of joy when he read it. I drove home a little faster than usual!! I can’t stop looking at the picture, it is amazing!! I keep trying to reconstruct his little face looking back at you in my head. I keep picturing your description of the next hour.

    We prayed for you guys as soon as we woke up knowing you already met your little one and just felt that it must have gone well. Thank you for continuing to share this journey with us!! Eric and I love you both!! Can’t wait to hear every detail!

  20. Laura Jones said

    Hey Garcia 3! 🙂 So glad to hear that your visit went well! We were praying yesterday from Moscow!! It sounds like you are already bonding and connecting really well. It only gets better and better for sure. You might want to ask Ludmilla, but one day on our first trip they let us visit in the morning and then we went to the monastery in Pechory (breathtakingly beautiful) that afternoon (like 10 min from baby home) and went to lunch and then went back for another visit after his nap (around 3 pm). We did bring the doctor a gift that day (prob not a coincidence) haha, but we didn’t care and were glad to get to see him 2 times in one day. Can’t wait for more updates!! We leave here late tomorrow night to catch our flight home! 🙂 Hate that we missed yall in Pskov! Enjoy every moment because on this side we can definitely say that it went by fast! 🙂
    Love,
    Laura, Landon and Liam

  21. Kiersten said

    AHHH!! that brought tears to my eyes, it was so beautiful
    I am sooo excited for you guys!!!!
    as is the rest of the Sr. High and I’m sure a ton others. When Brett told us at ignite that when we woke up Monday morning you would have met your son, the whole room went crazy!
    =]

    love you both!
    Kiersten

  22. Michal said

    I am so excited for ya’ll! And, oh my goodness did your dad’s stories about their prayers in the middle of the night touch me. God has prepared you as parents for this little one and him for you. i can’t wait to hear more of your story as it unfolds.

  23. Melissa O'Brien said

    Steve and Kate,
    We are rejoicing with you and all your answered prayers. SO excited for you both. You both are great parents and your little one is so blessed to have you. Can’t wait to hear more.

    • Monica said

      I’ve read this blog & its comments several times. This time I noticed a change in verb tense: from “you will be great parents” to “you ARE great parents.” I am smiling for you both… can’t wait to hear and see more!!

  24. Susana Villarino said

    Hey Guys,
    We feel your happiness and are so excited for you. It’s great to see the end of your waiting and the beginning of your new life coming closer. Of course you know you haven’t been waiting alone, and we’re all looking forward to celebrating with you when you can finally bring your little guy home.

    Lots of Love,
    “Aunt Su” & “Uncle Jim”

  25. Marci said

    Oh you guys!
    This is so so fun to watch what God is doing with you!!! I showed Bria and Jay the picture of you hugging your little guy on the computer and got to explain to them that your little boy is going to have a mom and a dad. We had to clarify who would be the mom and who would be the dad, but Bria was satisfied with my answer. We are all excited with you!

    Love, Marci

  26. Jen Reilly Eaby said

    This made me cry with joy. Congratulations, mom and dad!!!

Leave a Reply

