It’s Happening

October 13, 2009

It’s absolutely amazing to think that one week from today, we will be in Russia, meeting our son for the first time. It feels so crazy to even write that out in a sentence. We’ve been in this waiting time for so long, this desert land of wonder and desperation and now here we are, 5 days away from stepping onto a plane for an adventure that will change our lives forever.

We’ve ordered our visas, purchased our plane tickets, and purchased gifts/toys for our little man. This whole week has felt so surreal. My emotions have piqued on almost every level. I’ve experienced excitement like I have never felt, love like I have never felt, and nervousness like I have never felt.

The overall state of my heart is that I feel absolutely blessed. When I look at the picture of this little guy, our son to be, I am overwhelmed with gratitude. I think I have memorized every eyelash, tried to count every hair on his little head, stared deep into his beautiful eyes in search of what he must be thinking.

I never knew I could fall so in love with a picture. But, it’s more than a picture. He’s our son. (I know, not officially, we are still a few months away from that). But, he is the one we’ve been waiting for. I can’t wait to see him face to face. I can’t wait for him to be able to look into my eyes and wonder what I must be thinking. I can’t wait to watch him try to figure us out. I can’t wait for him to see our eyes light up when we see him for the first time. I can’t wait to hear his first laugh, see his first smile, comfort him when he cries the first time in front of me.

I know all of these things may not happen on the first trip. I’m trying to set my expectations. I feel like I have this flood of love stored up that I just want to pour all over him, but I do have to remember that to him, we are just strangers. For him, he will wake up on Monday morning like any other day. He’ll eat his breakfast the same way he does every morning…

Then all of a sudden 2 people who speak a different language, people who he doesn’t recognize, are going to walk into his life. How scary that may be for him. So, I’m praying that God will show me how to show him all the love I have for him in my heart, without overwhelming him. That may be through a simple smile or a hug. But, we are trusting that God, as He has been this entire journey, will go before us and prepare the way for our family.

Here is what our upcoming schedule will look like:

This Saturday afternoon we will fly out of Cleveland and arrive in St. Petersburg, Russia some time the next day. From there, representatives from our agency will pick us up and drive us another 4 hours to our region. It is 7 hours ahead of east coast time.

On Monday, we will wake up and head to orphanage!!!

Tuesday through Thursday we will get to go visit the orphanage every day. We will be staying at a wonderful woman’s house who will prepare meals for us, take us around the town and be at our side. We are already so grateful for her.

Thursday night we will head back to St. Petersburg.

Friday we plan on spending the day touring St. Petersburg. We will hopefully see the Hermitage and many of the other beautiful places that St. Petersburg is famous for.

Early Saturday morning we will hop back on a plane and fly back to the states. If all goes according to plan we should be back in Cleveland Saturday evening. Pray for our hearts to be strengthened as I’m sure it will be so difficult to say goodbye to our little guy.

We so appreciate your prayers. We have been overwhelmed this week by all of the amazingly encouraging comments, emails, phone calls, hugs, letters. We feel so strong knowing that we have so many people who are praying with us and for us as we take this next step!!

Updates:

  • all of our visa paperwork is filed and we expect to receive them in the mail Tuesday or Wednesday
  • friends of ours who have recently adopted from Pskov have been providing us with wisdom and encouragement that is so invaluable as we prepare for our trip. It has been so awesome.
  • Here we go! We leave Saturday 🙂

Prayer Requests:

  • please pray for our flight – that we would have no delays, connection problems, lost luggage, that we’d get some sleep, and for my fears of flying
  • for our times at the orphanage, that we would ask good questions to the workers and that our time with our little one would be priceless
  • for our hearts as we get ready to step out into a huge unknown – so many emotions, we just need lots of prayer 🙂

Exciting times! We are so grateful for all of you who are walking with us through this life changing season. It is an awesome journey.

We don’t know what the internet situation is going to be like once we get in Russia. So we started this TWITTER account, that Steve is hoping to update from his phone. We’ll see. Love, Kate & Steve.

9 Responses to “It’s Happening”

  1. Mom Shug said

    I understand. I am so excited. I love all three of you!
    I am continuing to pray with expectation!

  2. Mom Shug said

    I signed up on Twitter- easy!

  3. Sarah said

    So excitied for you.
    I really do believe that God was preparing the hearts of my children for a family long before I first met them. It is such an amazing moment when you see your child for the first time.
    I pray that you have total peace and joy on this trip. That the flights are smooth and stress free and that there are no delays. That you have the confidence of knowing that God has planned your every step, sits beside you on the plane, walks with you into the orphanage and shares your joy at finally meeting your son.

  4. BJ Melbourne said

    Katie and Steve…I’m thinking your little man will look in your eyes and think that angels have visited him with a sign until you return..he will know the love in your eyes! God has planned him for you all along!!
    You will be in my prayers and hoping how soon he will be coming home with you!

  5. Wendi said

    Kate,
    I’m so excited for you guys!! I can’t wait to follow your journey while you are in Russia. Hugs and prayers!

    Wendi

  6. Courtney said

    “Lord, You have been our dwelling place throughout all generations. Before the mountains were born or You brought forth the earth and the world, from everlasting to everlasting You are God (Ps 90:1-2).” *Praying God’s Word by Beth Moore

    As you journey, rest in the assurance that God is your dwelling place. Even as you hold your beautiful son for the first time, know that God has been holding him before the mountains were born, and will continue to cover him with the shadow of His hand (Isa. 51:16).

    Much love & prayers,
    Court and Aaron

  7. kirsten said

    tears, smiles, and prayers.

  8. Sarah said

    I am so excited for you I can barely stand it! I haven’t twittered in a month, but I brushed the dust off the account for this one! I know that God will be with you every step of the way and He has already been preparing your little angel’s heart for your arrival!
    I can’t wait to hear about all of your adventures and that sweet boy that has stolen your hearts….

  9. Victoria said

    Video EVERYTHING you can in the baby home. He will love to watch that when you first bring him home. The workers will be talking and cleaning, etc. be sure and video all those familiar noises so that he has the sounds. Don’t video their faces, but they won’t even know the video is on all the time. Our daughter still LOVES to watch her baby home videos, and to hear the language. Try to get as much Russian on tape as possible for him. He will light up when he hears it!

Leave a Reply

