BIG NEWS!!!

October 6, 2009

Friday afternoon, I was going about my daily business. I had just finished running some errands and walked in the door when my cell phone rang. If you have seen me the past few weeks, you would think that my cell phone was surgically connected to my palm because I didn’t want it out of my sight, in hopes of “the call”.

So, Friday at 1:45, my phone rings. I look and see that it is an 828 area code, which is the area code of our agency. “Oh my goodness..this is it.” I answer the phone, my voice shaking, “hello?”. “Kate, this is Anya, I have some information for you about your adoption.” We finally got our referral call! I asked her if she could call back in about 15 minutes because I wanted Steve and I to be together and she agreed.

So, I raced as fast as a law-abiding citizen could, up to Steve’s office. He was out to lunch with some of his coworkers when I called him and said, “Anya called. This is it. I’m coming to your office.” So, he raced back and met me there.

We paced back and forth for a few minutes waiting, waiting, waiting…and then the phone rings. We  answer on speaker phone to the sound of our good friend, Ben. He is the one who works at CWA that we were friends with from North Carolina. He was the one who was our connection to the agency and he and his wife, Brooke have been encouragements along the journey.

Ben said, “I’m looking at a picture of your son.” Tears, laughter, disbelief. “And I do have to say he’s a handsome little fella.” HE!!!! “Congratulations”, he said.

Kate listening to the good news on speaker phone

Kate listening to the good news on speaker phone

And then our case manager made him leave so we could have a confidential conversation. I honestly don’t remember much of what she said after that. All I could think about was that this was the day we had been waiting for for so long and it is finally here!

Towards the end of the conversation she said, “Well, I’m sure you want to get off the phone so I can send you a picture of the little one.” I laughed. Yes!! So we hung up and Steve and I anxiously watched my yahoo inbox go from no new messages to 1 new message. We opened up the email and attached was a picture. Hands shaking, we clicked, “download attachment.” And we waited.

the picture has finally arrived!

the picture has finally arrived!

Then there, before us, staring right into our eyes was THE MOST precious little guy we have ever seen. Our breaths were literally taken away. Tears filled our eyes and we were speechless. In that moment time stood still, and in that moment that time that we have been waiting seemed priceless and so worth it.  We are in love. We are trying to guard our hearts because we know there is still a lot to take place in order for everything to be finalized, but we couldn’t help but give our hearts away because he has so taken ours.

Steve seeing our son for the first time

Steve seeing our son for the first time

We printed out his picture and I carry him around with me wherever I go. The paper is already worn from me just looking at him and squishing his cute little chubby cheeks with my fingers. We immediately called an international adoption clinic located right here in Akron. They are doctors who specialize in looking over international referrals and giving their thoughts and opinions. We called and asked to make an appointment.

They told us that the doctor was leaving on Monday for Ethiopia, but they were so excited for us that they said they would come to the office on Saturday morning to have an appointment. We were so grateful. So, we met with a doctor on Saturday morning at 8:30 and she had such wonderful things to say about our little guy. She said he looked great!

This morning, we officially told our case manager that we would like to move forward and meet him! A few hours later she called us with our travel dates. We will be leaving on October 17th. So, here we go!

CWA has been so awesome and helpful and encouraging. So, over the next 2 weeks we will be making traveling arrangements, applying for our visas, hopefully getting our visas, getting our little guy some toys, and withdrawing some fresh money from the bank…This is the craziness we have SO been looking forward to! I love it!

My mom keeps saying how cute it is to think that our little guy is just going about his daily business, having no idea than in just 2 short weeks he is going to meet his parents and his life, and ours, will be changed forever.

My heart is overwhelmed with gratitude and awe and excitement. When I look at him, I think…God knows. Already, He has given us more than we could have asked or imagined and we can’t wait to continue to watch more of His blessings pour into our lives from our little guy.

Thanks for sticking with us this far – now we get to experience the fun part together!

We will keep you posted and hopefully next week, we will be able to be a little more specific with our travel itinerary, and then the week after that, will be a post from beautiful RUSSIA!!!

Updates:

  • this is it! Things are finally moving for us!
  • due to security reasons, we cannot post the child’s picture or name, until after the adoption is finalized

Prayer Requests:

  • please pray that we would get prepared to leave in these next 2 weeks
  • pray for the health of our little boy, & that his heart would be ready for us

Until next Monday, love Kate and Steve 🙂

35 Responses to “BIG NEWS!!!”

  1. Dawn Maloney said

    How great is our God!

  2. jodi tucker said

    Amen! Yes! Weeeeeee! Thank you Lord! This is such wonderful, long anticipated news!! I am filled with joy for you!

  3. Jessica said

    I am so happy and excited for you guys! I can’t wait to see pictures and learn more about this little guy!

  4. Jen Quirk said

    amazing! tears of joy right there with you…i am so so excited! 🙂

  5. Mama Mary said

    Oh guys, I can hardly see to type this I am crying so hard! Yes, tears of joy! Thank You, Jesus!!
    You are not allowed to leave the country until I see his picture – I’ll call you soon.

  6. Jane said

    WOW!!!!! So, so, so happy for you.

  7. Miss Nan said

    I am so happy for you and for that little guy who not only will have great parents but great grandparents. Praying for everything to go smoothly.

  8. I’m soo happy for you guys! My husband and I read your blog every week and have be waiting to hear the wonderful news. I couldn’t help but cry when I read this week. God bless you two and your son 🙂
    Oh how old is he?

  9. Lindsey said

    oh my gosh, oh my gosh, oh my gosh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! tears everywhere! praise the lord! we can’t wait to meet our little nephew. we love you guys and are praying the travels go well.

  10. Emily said

    Congratuations! I have been following along for awhile, but have not commented. My husband and I adopted our son from Russia in 2004 and know the excitement that you are feeling. We wish you the best and can’t wait to follow along as you travel to meet your son.

  11. Stephanie Fabricius said

    That is really exciting and I am so happy for you three! He will have truly wonderful parents!

  12. Hi Kate…How funny you are leaving for Russia on the 17TH as we are leaving on the 18TH to accept our referral!!! There will be an over night layover in Amsterdam for us to rest. We will, however, be flying directly into Moscow and right out (same day) to the region on Monday. We will be back in Moscow on Friday. Email me if you are interested in more travel info. Big CONGRATS on your wonderful news of a son..God’s many blessings!!!
    Your blog pal…Trisha (mom2b4#10)

  13. Sarah said

    Congratulations!!! I’ve reread your post three times now. I’m so excited for you. The waiting is so much easier when you know who you are waiting for…insert happy music here…

  14. courtney day said

    ahhhhh!!! i am so so so excited for you guys 🙂 i can’t stop smiling.

  15. BJ Melbourne said

    I know what a good mommy you were as an adorable little toddler to Ralph…hope you can work that in your name..You and Steve are setting out on an awesome journey and all of this waiting has been in His plan. What beautiful parents you will be to your new son!!! Can’t wait til you can share him…but we will wait and be thankful!!

  16. manda said

    I am so happy for both of you. Children are such a great gift from our God. As an adopted child I have a special place in my heart for my new nephew to be. He couldnt ask for a better family to be with. Gods timing is the absolute best. Love you both

  17. cnhutch said

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!! I can barely read the computer screen because of happy tears! I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO excited for you guys, I don’t even have words!

  18. Jules said

    I am over whelmed with joy your family!! I have been reading your blog every week praying for you and using your words and your strenth to get me through our waiting for our child! Each week I hope that before I get my child you get yours first! You both deserve this so much, I have tears of joy for you even though I do not know you. Your faith has been carring me too.
    Love and Peace
    Jules

  19. kathy said

    I look forward to your entries every Monday..they are so encouraging for me as I, too, wait to bring my little one home from Russia. I am so EXTREMELY excited for you both…I had tears running down my face as I read this weeks post!!! God Bless!!!!

  20. Rebekah said

    Congratulations! I found your blog through my friend, Brooke, and have been encouraged over the last months of reading. I will be praying for you as you get ready for travel and then as you go! Praise be to God! He is sssssoooooo GOOD!

  21. Monica said

    YAAAAYYYY!!!!

  22. Monica said

    And the look on Steve’s face took my breath away 🙂

  23. donna said

    Katie! This is such wonderful, joyful news! Have a great trip full of beautiful memories!

  24. Oh my goodness! Congratulations! I am so so happy for you guys. I wanted to burst into tears when I read about your referral. You will be in my thoughts and prayers as you travel to meet your son. I know this is a God thing, and I can’t wait for your gotcha day!!! Keep us posted on all the new happenings 🙂

  25. kirsten said

    🙂 do i need to put words on here? i can’t find any. i am overflowing with emotion for you~all good~but almost unable to be explained with words. this is just…awesome! praise the Lord!!!!

  26. Sarah said

    Yeah!!! We are so happy for you! We are following in your footsteps, literally, so keep us posted so that we know what to expect in our region. I was hoping that we would be able to travel together, but you guys go and blaze a path for us. Maybe you’ll see our baby while you are there….now that’s a crazy thought!
    You’ll be our prayers. We are thrilled for you!

  27. Laura Clowson said

    I just cried and cried when I read this. I literally had to stop myself from crying so I could read the rest of it.
    Laura Clowson (Bavis’ friend)

  28. Erica Shimko said

    That is sooo amazing! I am so incredibly excited for you both! I want to see pictures on here asap! You are going to be the most amazing parents! Congrats! You will be in my prayers!

  29. Pat Lebda said

    Congratulations Katie – I will keep you and Steve and this baby boy in my prayers – I am thrilled for you.

  30. Kristin said

    Bawling! So happy for you guys…. praying accordingly.

  31. Lee Starlin said

    Now I know what that noise was on Friday afternoon. Can’t wait for the next chapter.

  32. Victoria said

    Congratulations!!!!!!!! Isn’t it THE MOST EXCITING thing in the world! Just wait until your wheels touch down in Russia – what a great country it is! We LOVED our time there – enjoy every minute.

    Victoria

  33. amy&jason said

    yahoooo…….so excited for your family.
    very cool.
    love you guys.

  34. Kim said

    Oh Kate, that is fantastic news! You recounted the events so vividly it was like I was going through it all over again! I think Anya said the same things to us as well! 🙂 Praise the lord!!!

  35. Angie said

    Yay! Praise the Lord! I am so excited for you guys! I will be praying for your travels, paperwork, all the other details to come in the next week. What an amazing, heavy, precious thing it is to see your child for the very first time. God is so good!

Leave a Reply

