The Complete Life

August 25, 2009

Last week, we went to the Cleveland Hopkins Airport to send off 2 of our recent high school graduates, Ryan and Janaya. They will be spending the next year on a ship porting at different stops all around Asia, showing God’s love to people who don’t often hear the name of Christ. It’s a pretty amazing opportunity.

Before we said goodbye at the airport, they both presented gifts to Steve and me. Ryan pulled out of his pocket a plastic bag full of quarters. He said, “this is for your quarter collection” (an obvious reference to our adoption fund). My eyes welled up with tears and I just couldn’t believe that amidst all of his packing and saying goodbyes to his friends and family, that he would think to do something like this for us and our little one.

Then Janaya handed me and Steve 3 cards, one for me, one for Steve and a third card. We didn’t understand so she explained, “this one is for Baby Garcia. But you can open it whenever you want.” After some tearful goodbyes, we got back in the car and read the card out loud. We both became overwhelmed with emotion. This is what it said:

“Dear Baby Garcia, Know that I am praying for you ☺ I am so excited to meet you when I return to the States. But even more than that I am soo excited for you to come live here because you will be deeply loved and cared for always….Anyways, this money is for your fund. Enjoy. I love you whoever you are, wherever you are baby.”

Also in this card, Janaya included money for our adoption fund. I was so deeply moved on so many levels. I am so amazingly proud of these high school students. These are just 2 of the many who have been constantly supporting and loving us through this journey of adoption. In the midst of major life changes these 2 are going through, they thought of how they can serve and encourage others.

I was also emotional thinking about the fact that when we come to the airport again to welcome home these students, we won’t just be “Steve and Kate” anymore. But, we will be “mom an dad”, and we will have a little one with us to greet them.

We are so grateful for who God is continuing to use to bring our baby into our arms. Through prayer, encouragement, wisdom, hugs, asking questions, and giving financially,  there is no question that we will be able to tell our child about the countless friends, family, strangers, and blog-followers who have been cheering their little life on. We are humbled and overwhelmingly grateful.

This past week I have felt like God has been bringing me back to a verse that I always loved. James 1:2-4. “Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness (endurance, waiting). And let steadfastness (endurance, waiting) have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.”

I often battle in my mind this feeling of “if I can just be a mom, I will feel complete, I will lack nothing.” If I can just…If I can just…If I can just…

However, what this Scripture is speaking to me is that it’s the endurance of trials that makes me complete. A baby will not make me complete. A nicer house will not make me complete. James informs us that it is the trials and the testing of our faith that brings about completion.

Doesn’t that blow your mind? Isn’t it just like God to flip what the world thinks of as completion and perfection? A “complete” person is not one who walks around with a plastered, ‘happy-all-the time’ smile on their face. Life is not a sitcom, where bad things never happen…and if they do, they are solved within 30 minutes 🙂

No, the complete life is the weathered life. It’s the life that experiences storms. It’s the life that hurts. It’s the life that gets frustrated. It’s the life marked by trials. I’m learning that these are the things that produce in me endurance and steadfastness…which in turn gives hope and patience and peace that this adoption will happen.

It’s in these trials when we come to the place where we realize that He really is all that we need. And that is when we can start counting the joy. Now Lord, help me to live that way…

Updates:

  • we are pretty much up to speed on all paperwork
  • now we just anxiously wait for the day when the phone call comes telling us we have a referral!

Prayer Requests:

  • that we would continue to see God’s molding through these trials
  • for our little one, wherever he or she is, that they would be loved and held and well cared for until we arrive

Until next Monday, love Kate and Steve

3 Responses to “The Complete Life”

  1. Mama Mary said

    The joy of the Lord is our strength, KMLG, yours and mine!

  2. Melissa said

    Katie, I love your blog. This post really spoke to me… I love you guys!!!!

  3. Sarah said

    Katie:
    My name is Sarah and my husband and I are registered in Pskov with CWA too! Yesterday our case manager told us we were #2 on the list- I think you are the number 1 we were wondering about! Isn’t it a small world? I can’t wait to catch up with you and swap stories. My husband is a youth pastor in SC, from what little I’ve read it sounds like we may have a common thread there too. Talk to you soon- Sarah

Leave a Reply

