Thoughts from a 737

July 14, 2009

Well, I am sitting here next to Steve on an airplane coming back from San Francisco. We were attending Steve’s brother’s wedding. It was an absolutely beautiful celebration of God’s goodness and faithfulness in their lives. Steve was asked to officiate the wedding and was honored to be a part of Pete and Lindsey’s day.

So, as the pilot just said, “it is a beautiful evening for flying”. It truly is. I have been looking out the window, thinking about life and the absolute hugeness and creativity of God.  Now, if you’ve read my blog before, you know how much I dislike flying. But, it is impossible to not look out the window of an airplane on a day like today and be overwhelmed by the beauty of God’s hand. Fear is gone. Anxieties squelched…what else can I do but worship?

sunset
I’ve also been thinking about the day in the (hopefully) not too distant future where Steve and I will be in this same position again…together on an airplane. But something will be different, our little one will be with us.

What is it going to be like? Will he or she be sleeping peacefully in my arms? Or will he or she be squirming all over the place, just wanting to get out an explore their new surroundings? Probably both.

Will I be smiling ear to ear in joy over the finality of this process? Or will I be in tears as the exhaustion and emotions of the past few years finally catch up to me? Probably both.

Will I be relieved to finally have our little in our arms, for the days of waiting and paperwork to finally be over? Or will I be anxious thinking about the years ahead as a mom – what is our future going to look like together as a family? Probably both.

I am sure that flight will be an unforgettable one, filled with every emotion that God created….and I can’t wait for that day. I can’t wait to be that person on the airplane whose child is making too much noise and the person in front of me peers at me from their seat and I say, “I’m sorry, MY little one is just figuring this all out.”

My little one. Our little one. The one we have been waiting for, praying for, hoping for, dreaming about. I can’t wait for that day.

And so, as I look out the window today, consumed with how great and beautiful our God is, I am reminded that the very same sun that I see from my window, is the one that my little one sees every day. We don’t see it at the same time, but it is the same sun.

And what is even more amazing than that is that my God is one who causes the sun to rise and set every day. So, if God beautifully orchestrates creation to paint a picture in the sky, why do I doubt that He is orchestrating an even more beautiful story of joining our hearts to our little one’s?

As I finish this post, I say…it is a beautiful evening for flying.

Updates:

  • We are in the process of updating paperwork which is pricey, but unfortunately that is all part of the dance
  • We continue to wait for the call from our agency. We are about half way through the most recent time frame they quoted us

Prayer Requests:

  • Wherever our child is, that they would be hugged and touched and sung to
  • That these days of waiting would feel like they are moving by quickly

Until next Monday, love Kate & Steve

5 Responses to “Thoughts from a 737”

  1. Mama Mary said

    :o)

  2. Kacey said

    Beautifully written, Kate.
    It made me smile because I have had some of my greatest “Wow” moments on God’s awesomeness from airplanes. How can you not see His power and majesty from that view? :o) Still praying for you, Kacey

  3. Stephanie Fabricius said

    Down the road, when you have those impossible moments with your child – you will have the great benefit of being able to sit down and re-read all these blog posts. Your heart will melt and things will be better in no time at all. Not everyone has their desire and love for a child written down – you do and I think that is amazing.

  4. Julie Davis said

    My eyes are teary as I read and pray for your day to come quickly.

  5. jodi tucker said

    One day little Garcia will grow up and read all these words/heartfelt thoughts/longings and desires AND truly know the great God of his parents can be his/her God, too AND how truly loved he/she is by Momma Kate and Daddy Steve!

Leave a Reply

