the other side of an adoption story

May 26, 2009

I don’t know why I am still so surprised by what God does. He is so good. So loving. During the waiting and the tough times, He always sends me reminders that He is with me. That He is a loving, gentle God who is absolutely in tune to my heart. So why am I still surprised?

This past Sunday at church, I met two girls who were adopted from India. This makes a total of 6 girls that I have met in the past year who been adopted internationally who have just “happened” to visit our student ministry. So, I met these two girls and instantly my heart connected to theirs. They are biological sisters who were adopted when they were 7 and 8 years old. Their story is amazing.

They were given to an orphanage in Bangalore, India (which is even more amazing that I have BEEN to Bangalore!) along with their younger sister because of the way the dowery system is set up in India.

When a daughter is born, they are given a “cost” to the parents that must be paid to the family of who they will marry into. The family of these girls could not afford their dowery, so the 3 girls were placed in an orphanage.

While all of this was happening, a couple in Colorado, who could not have children of their own,  adopted a boy from the states. A few years later, they received a newsletter from their agency. One of the pictures on the newsletter was of these 2 sisters. The parents looked at the girl’s pictures and said, “these are our daughters. We have to adopt them”.

They called this adoption agency and said the girls on their newsletter were the girls they were called to adopt. The agency informed them that there was also a third sister who wasn’t pictured. This couple replied, “then she is ours too.” After lots of complications, paperwork and waiting, the 3 girls from India came “home”.

As I sat and talked to these girls and they opened up their story to me, I was overwhelmed with emotion…to listen to the other side of an adoption story is truly a beautiful thing. Their story is filled with pain and sadness, one that began with feelings of abandonment and neglect, one that ends up being a beautiful story of redemption.

As I was listening to their story, I said to the girls…”wow, this is so amazing. You have to feel so…” Before I could even finish my sentence, one of the girls, with tears in her eyes, finished my question for me… “Special? Valued?”

“Yes.” Is all I could muster up at the moment. It was reminder of how God turns ashes into beauty. How He takes 2 girls, who began their life feeling like a “debt”,  to be able to stand in security of having value.

God is so good. When I feel like I can’t take one more step forward, He lifts me up and exposes me to a story like this. It reminds me of the beauty of adoption and brings me back to His heart.  He is the Author of our story: the twists and turns, the ups and downs, the joys and heartache, the security and doubts…they are all a part of the story He is writing in our life as He brings us closer to His heart.

Thanks for following our story, for being a part of our story, for giving us encouragement as we live out our story. We are so grateful for you!

Updates:

  • waiting and silence (I guess that’s not really an update…just our reality right now).

Prayer Requests:

  • Pray for our little one, wherever they may be, that they would be loved & touched
  • Pray for us as we struggle through prolonged periods of silence

Until next Monday, love Kate & Steve

2 Responses to “the other side of an adoption story”

  1. kirsten said

    that is a beautiful story.

    praying.

  2. joditucker said

    Wow!

Leave a Reply

