The God Who Sees

March 17, 2009

Last week, Steve and I were getting a little frustrated with the amount of information we had been receiving from our agency. We were feeling like there were some questions that we had that weren’t getting answered, and we just started feeling nervous about how our adoption was going.

Part of it, I’m sure, is just the general uneasiness and fears during this waiting period. We had gone weeks and weeks without hearing anything regarding our progress. But, I do think some of the frustration was because some legitimate questions weren’t being answered. New thoughts began to surface in our minds. Thoughts like: what would it look like to change agencies at this point? Or change countries?

We were so torn over these thoughts because we knew God had led us here and protected us so far through this journey. We have trusted Him every step of the way and now all of these questions and doubts started to seep in our minds. As Steve and I were discussing options and our fears, my phone rang. I mean literally at the exact moment of our deepest desperation, my phone rang. I answered it and it was a woman from a different adoption agency, one we had looked into months ago when we were just beginning the process.

It was a 6 month follow-up call and she was just wondering how we were doing. I told her that we had decided to go with a different agency and we were moving forward. Then she asked if I had any questions in general about how Russian adoptions were going. We proceeded to have a 20 minute conversation about some of the fears and questions I was having with our agency.

She said she wanted to speak to me “off the record” and basically answered all of my questions. She said the worst thing that we could do right now is change agencies, and she over and over again affirmed our decision. This woman had zero to gain from the conversation. I consider her to be one of the many blessings that we have encountered and will continue to encounter along the way.

Isn’t God so good? He knows just how much we can handle…just how much we can be pressed before His comfort intervenes through words and confirmations. He is the God who sees. He see me, my pain, my limits. And He knows just when to step in and bring peace to my soul. I am so amazed at how God continues to show Himself and His love to me through His Word and through people.

We still have some questions that need to be answered. But, that’s just all that they are. Questions that need answers. And we are trusting that our agency is working hard to get some of those questions answered. They are sending a team out to Russia this week to meet with some of the facilitators in Russia. We are praying that through this trip, there will be much clarity and wisdom gained. Thanks for journeying with us. For waiting with us during the quiet times.

Updates:

  • Waiting, waiting and more waiting☺

Prayer Requests:

  • Pray for the team from our agency who will be traveling to Russia – for wisdom, clarity and insight
  • Pray for us as we wait and trust in God through this process
  • Pray for our little one – that he/she will be loved, touched, sung to and hugged often
  • Pray for the caretakers – for patience and compassion

Until next Monday, love Kate & Steve

One Response to “The God Who Sees”

  1. Mama Mary said

    Waiting with you, journeying with you. Thanx for journeying with me. It was wonderful to get a hug from you today!

Leave a Reply

