Waiting Room

March 10, 2009

I don’t have many words right now…Just this song that has been going through my head by Shane and Shane.

i will run when i cannot walk
i will sing when there is no song
i will pray when there is no prayer
i will listen when i cannot hear

sitting in the waiting room of silence
waiting for that still soft voice i know
offering my words up to the rooftop to Your heart
trusting that this closet’s where You are

Lord i know if i change my mind
You will change my heart in time
Sovereign Lord this time’s from You
so i sit in the waiting room of silence
cause its all about You

i will fight when i cannot feel
i will trust when You don’t seem real
i will tell when i cannot speak
i will step when i cannot see

That’s where we continue to sit…in the waiting room. I love the line “Sovereign Lord, this time’s from you.” He is the all-knowing God who knows our story from beginning to end. He has led us to this waiting room and this time of waiting is from Him.

But sometimes I feel like I have no more waiting left in me.

So I am trying to see the beauty of what happens when I get to the end of myself. Because that is when God is most evident in my life – when He supplies me with the strength, the faith, the hope, and the peace that could not possibly come from my own heart.

He quiets me with His love.

Also, we received something cool in the mail today: a beautiful handmade baby blanket from our friend Karen King. It is so perfect – the yellow in the blanket is the exact color of our walls! The other colors are the same as the Russian flag.

blanket

We are so thankful. God continues to remind us of His faithfulness, provision and comfort through people. We rest and find strength from your encouragement and support.

Updates:

  • we received word that referrals in Russia have slowed down significantly
  • we still don’t know the exact date we were registered – when we do find out, it will hopefully give us a a better idea of how much longer we have to wait
  • a team from our agency will be going to Russia next week to get more information on the progress of adoptions

Prayer Requests:

  • Pray for this team that is going to Russia – that they would get answers and provide us and other families with more clarity
  • Pray for strength for us as we wait – that we would draw closer to God and to each other through all the waiting
  • Pray for our little one – that God would lead us to him/her quickly

Thank you for all your support! We wish we had more to share. Until next Monday, love Kate & Steve.

3 Responses to “Waiting Room”

  1. steveandkate said

    Beautiful daughter, beautiful blanket, beautiful faith! I love you.
    Mom

  2. Jane said

    Dear Kate and Steve,

    Your testimony is a wonderful reminder to me to praise God in the wilderness times. He does give us streams in the desert and hope in the waiting.

    As I thank God for you both tonight, I am praying that He will continue to send you fresh reminders of his great faithfulness, mercy and love.

    Jane

  3. Helen said

    I am amazed at the way Christ is shinning through you. I continue to pray. I feel that it is such a small thing to do. But, I am crying out to our Father, the God of the universe to sustain you and to take care of that little baby — until he is in your arms!

Leave a Reply

