Next Christmas…

December 29, 2008

So, the phrase of the season to us has been…”next Christmas you’ll have your little one running around and opening presents.” It’s so exciting to picture this. I still don’t feel like it’s actually going to happen. It still seems so far away and so “out there”. But, it was really neat because I was able to spend some time talking to my aunt who adopted her daughter. She was told she had a 6 month – 2 year wait and 10 days later they were called with a referral for their little girl.

Over the past week God has been reminding me that I can not, and do not have any control over this situation. So much of me tries to control our adoption with reading other people’s adoption blogs, being a part adoption chat rooms, and trying to search to find “inside information”.

I love to know things. I’m the kind of person who would love for someone to throw me a surprise party, but I would want to know about it ahead of time. ☺ One of the things that God is teaching me is what it looks like to trust Him daily, even though I don’t know what is going to happen in a year, a month, or even a week with our adoption. What does it look like to truly trust Him? That is where I am this week: Learning and relearning what it looks like to trust in God’s plan for our life.

Some days are more difficult than others. Some days I get so frustrated that I just want to give up. But, there are other days where God fills me with such a peace and motivation to keep after Him, after His heart, after His plan for our lives.

As far as what is actually going on. Our agency is closed for the holidays until the first of January and then the Russian facility is closed until the 12th. We’ll hopefully find out some updates on our paperwork and if there have been any changes with the adoption process then. Thanks for waiting with us, encouraging us and praying for us in this journey. We are so grateful and hope that next Christmas we will be able to share our little one with you!

Updates:

  • Our updated paperwork is hopefully in the hands of our facilitators in Russia and will be ready to be processed when the Russian facilitators come back from holiday.

Prayer Requests:

  • Pray for us as we continue to wait – for patience and for dependence on God alone
  • Pray for our little one – that they would feel loved and touched and nurtured
  • Pray for the facilitators in Russia – for wisdom as they make decisions that could effect adoptive parents

Thank you so much for all of your love and support. Until next Monday…love, Kate & Steve.

4 Responses to “Next Christmas…”

  1. Erin said

    I am so filled with deep respect for you as I read your blogs. Thank you for allowing so many people to be a part of your adoption journey.
    “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him”. This is my prayer for you and Steve.
    Erin

  2. joditucker said

    I am echoing Erin’s prayer!

  3. Sara Schlappi said

    Hi Katie – I just got finished reading and catching up on your adoption blog. Your love for God has always been, and still is a huge encouragement to me. I love you so much!! Sara

  4. Sarah said

    Hi,
    we completed the process of adopting siblings from Russia in march 2008 and were only recently in a place where we could hold our emotions together enough to share our whole story with our church so I really admire your openess. As I write this my four year old son and his two year old biological sister are playing nearby, so If the road seems long at times don’t give up it really will happen. With Russian adoption everything moves very slowly and then incredibly fast.
    I don’t know what your plans are but I would advise anyone adopting internationally to consider siblings. There are the practical reasons such as the cost of going again if you decide to have more than one child but that aside our kids get so much happiness from each other, if I was doing it again I’d try for three.
    Good Luck and God Bless

Leave a Reply

