Letter of Love

December 15, 2008

Let’s start with some good news! This past week we received a note from Shaohannah’s Hope (Steven Curtis Chapman’s international adoption organization). They were happy to inform us that they will be giving us a $2500 grant for our adoption. YAY! We were so excited. God has truly been blowing us away with His goodness, His provision and His faithfulness to us. Who would have thought that in 7 months He would give us $34,000 through friends, family, strangers, blog followers :), and grant organizations?? We are unbelievably grateful and overwhelmed. A mountain that we knew from the beginning was only going to be conquered through God alone has now become a little hill 🙂

I’ve been thinking a lot about our little one lately. It’s strange because it comes in waves. Our adoption is always lingering every day in the back of my mind. But, this past week, it seems like it has been very much on the forefront. I go to bed just thinking and praying for our little one with so much anticipation. I thought I would share a little bit of a note that I wrote to our little one this past week…

My sweet little one,
Never did I think I could already love someone the way I love you. I’ve been thinking a lot about you lately and wondering what the future is going to be like for us. What is it going to be like when I see your picture for the first time? Will you be smiling? Will you know why your picture is even being taken?

Will you know something big is getting ready to take place in your life? What is it going to be like when I see you in person for the first time? Will you know there is something special about this “strange man and woman”? Will you let me hug you or will you be unsure? I understand either way.

Will you like the toys we bring you? Will the “strange man” make you laugh with his funny facial expressions? Will you know that my smile is different from the ones you’ve seen before? Will you know it is the smile of someone who has been waiting for you and thinking of you for so long? What will it be like when we have to leave you for a little while? Will you know that we’re coming back? I sure hope you do.

I hope you know that if it were up to us, we never would have left you. Oh little one, I can’t wait for the day to see you face to face. I am praying that you know somehow in your little heart that there is a mommy and daddy trying to get to you. I’m so thankful for those that are taking care of you right now. I know they have lots of little ones to take care of, but I’m praying that they give you lots of hugs and kisses for me.
I love you little one, mommy.

Updates:

  • We received a grant from Shaohannahs Hope. Praise God! We are still waiting to hear back from one final grant organization to see if we will receive any more assistance.
  • We are working on some paperwork that needs to be updated and sent back out to Russia.
  • Between our Christmas break and their holidays, our adoption process will be on a “pause” for the next few weeks.

Prayer Requests:

  • Thank God for His amazing provision in our lives. We are so grateful for how He is stirring in hearts of people to give.
  • Pray for our little one during these cold months (if they are born) to be loved and touched
  • Pray for wisdom and speed for all of those who are involved with our registration and referral of our baby – pray that God would lead the faciliators to the baby God has for us

Until next Monday, love, Kate & Steve

5 Responses to “Letter of Love”

  1. msflowe said

    I want Little One to know that Oompa and Tilly (Grandma and Grandpa) are loving, thinking and praying for him/her too!
    Love,
    Mom

  2. Russ and Kate said

    We’re so glad to hear the good grant news!!!
    Russ and Kate 🙂

  3. BJ Melbourne said

    Katie and Steve,
    It is so good to hear your encouraging news of getting closer to your baby.
    He or she will know that feeling that you expressed in your letter just as the spirit is greater than words. I loved your expression of love and your baby will feel it!!!
    love, Billie Jo

  4. kirsten said

    congratulations on the grant!! so exciting!! and thank you for sharing your note with all of us. so beautiful! i can’t wait, and i know you really can’t, for you to be able to share that with your child. the impact that will have once they are grown and can understand the early part of their life, none of us can comprehend. my constant prayer for our kids is that they will know one day just how much we loved them and wanted them. glad to be able to follow your journey.
    kirsten

  5. joditucker said

    Two comments to GOD: WOW!! and THANKS!! All the $ raised can only be from people moved by Him to do so, plus you’re a really cool couple!

Leave a Reply

