Given Much

December 1, 2008

I’d like to first tell you of an amazingly, encouraging story. As you know from our last post, we had an amazing time at our “Born in Our Hearts” fundraising event. Well, the next day, Laurelyn and I were on the phone and she went to her mailbox. She opened up an envelope and it read…”We were at the event last night for Steve and Kate and felt led to give….” It included a check for….$5000.00. Wow! So, Laurelyn and I were screaming and laughing on the phone together. It was so unbelievably amazing. All I have to say is wow. God truly is blowing us away. We are so grateful. He is amazing and we are so blessed to be the recipients of His grace and blessing as He gives to us through people.

My parents came up to Ohio from North Carolina on Wednesday during the day. Thursday, we went to our good friends (the Fairfax’s) house for Thanksgiving dinner. It was so fun to be with my family and friends. We had a blast! Friday, we decided to go to Babys ‘R Us to get some ideas on what our nursery would look like. I have tried so hard to not dream up and think about a nursery. I have tried to guard and protect my heart in that area and so I’ve never even been inside a Babys ‘R Us.

So Steve, me and my parents spent a lot of time looking at cribs and bedding. Slowly I began to allow my mind and heart to open up to the idea that this is actually happening. I am going to be a mommy. We found the most beautiful crib I’ve ever seen. We shopped around and checked out other cribs but we just kept coming back to this one. It was definitely way more expensive than we were planning on spending. (Actually a good friend was going to just give us theirs). But this crib was perfect. It is a conversion crib that moves from a crib into a daybed/twin bed and then eventually into a full bed. This is perfect since we’re not sure the age or the needs of our little one will be when they get home.

We were getting ready to leave and dad said to me, “mom and I have already discussed this and we want to buy you guys this crib.” Immediately tears streamed down my face. “What? No. You can’t. It’s too expensive.” But, of course (if you know my parents) they would not take no for an answer. We all stood in Babys ‘R Us hugging and crying. It was such a special moment.

We then went to Home Depot to pick out a paint color. We spent the rest of the day painting and assembling the crib together. I absolutely love it. It is very overwhelming to walk past the room that for the last 3 years has been an office/catch all room; the room whose door was always shut because it was a constant reminder to me of being the “nursery that never was”. And now to walk past it, door wide open, clean and beautiful, I realize our little one is going to live in there someday soon.

nursery

We still have lots to do in that room, we also have plenty of time ☺ But it was such a good step for me to continue to live in the reality that this is actually happening. And as I sit in that room now, I pray even more diligently for little St. Pete. My specific prayer now is that our paperwork in Russia would supernaturally make it to the top of the pile…so much so that people would say, “I don’t know how you have a referral already, but…” I know God is big enough to do that. Even if He doesn’t, I am still so thankful for all He has given us in our lives and how He is continually leading us through this beautiful process of adoption. Thanks for walking with us…it is an adventure, for sure!

Updates:

  • Still no word on whether our registration has gone through. When I talked to our case worker last week, she is thinking that no news is good news. So, we’ll go with that ☺
  • We have continued to receive financial gifts and we are getting within reach of our goals. God is so good. Thank you for responding to the stirring He puts on your heart to give!
  • We applied for 3 different grants. We were notified by 1 of them that we will not receive help. Although the other 2 were supposed to review our situation in October we still haven’t heard if we have been accepted or not.

Prayer Requests:

  • Pray that we would hear some definite and concrete this week about where our paperwork is.
  • Pray for the country of Russia and their relationship with the US.
  • Pray for little St. Pete – if he/she is born, pray that they are being taken care of, loved and touched and cuddled often.

Until next Monday, love, Kate & Steve.

3 Responses to “Given Much”

  1. klarobinson215 said

    What amazing and loving family and friends you have. I’m so happy for you both… and enjoy prepping the nursery – you are allowed to nest 🙂

  2. Mama Mary said

    Sheesh, Kate, I cried through your whole update!

  3. Helen Allphin said

    I am so happy for you! I love you. I will keep praying.

Leave a Reply

