Lots to Look Forward to

November 17, 2008

To start things off today, here is an email I received last week from our case worker at CWA:

“Good news! I was told yesterday by our program director, after speaking to our facilitator in your region, that they expect to register your dossier on Monday, 11/17.  I will let you know when I have confirmation, which will probably be mid-week.”

This is exciting news and we are praying that we will hear the “official word” and be able to announce the news at our big event on Friday. We are so much looking forward to “Born in our Hearts” on Friday night. Steve and I spent a couple of hours this afternoon talking about what we want to share and how we want to share it. I’m so excited. Our prayer is that Friday evening will be an evening full of encouragement, inspiration, education and laughs for all. I hope you’ll be able to share in it with us.

Here is a little preview: We will have an opportunity to worship together through songs led by Eric Hays. Dave and Jen Smith will be leading us in a time of interactive prayer. Steve and I will also have a chance to briefly share from our hearts about where God has been bringing us in this journey of adoption. So many people have already been a part of the preparation and will be bringing all different kinds of soups and desserts. I am blown away and humbled at all of the people who are involved in this event. I am so looking forward to a wonderful time together! I hope you can be there. It’s going to be awesome.

Steve and I were planning on spending Thanksgiving up here in Ohio. My mom just had surgery so I didn’t think it would be possible to see them. But my parents called yesterday and said they were wanting to come up to share Thanksgiving with us. My mom also said that they are wanting to help us get started on our NURSERY!! Ahhh!  It’s still very crazy to think about. There has been this room in our house that has always been the “everything” room. I never wanted to officially decorate it because I was always hoping it would be the “baby’s room”. So, for the last 4 years, the empty room has sat as a symbol of my “empty arms”.

I know I probably should have just painted the room and turned it into an “office”. But, I could never bring myself to do it and face the fact that it may never be a nursery. So, the thought of painting and decorating the nursery is a big step for me. It is one more thing that will make this whole process seem even more “real”. I think it will be emotional and exciting, scary and so fun! Can’t wait to post pictures!

Thanks again for journeying with us. We hope that if you’re in the area, that you and your family would join us this Friday night. At the top of our blog is a link called “Nov. 21”. On this link you will find all the information you need regarding any details including how to purchase tickets. I can’t wait to share about it next Monday!

Updates:

  • We are suppose to be “registered” today in St. Petersburg. And hope to have confirmation by Wednesday.
  • Once registered, we begin the “big waiting” for our referral
  • THIS Friday night is our big fundraiser

Prayer Requests:

  • We still haven’t heard back from the 2 grant agencies we applied with. Please pray that they will accept us and be generous with their resources
  • Pray that once we are registered, the dept. in Russia would have wisdom as they select a child for us
  • Pray that Friday night would be an amazing time for all – and that God would blow us away with generosity and provision

Until next Monday, Kate & Steve

3 Responses to “Lots to Look Forward to”

  1. Ronnie Lowe said

    I wish so bad we could be there Friday night, but just know that your mom and I will be praying and thinking about you guys during the event. We are so thankful for all your friends who are choosing to be a part of this journey. We look forward to getting up there in a couple of weeks and to get started on St. Pete’s room. It’s going to be awesome! I love you and can’t wait to see you and Steve.

  2. Mom & Dad Garcia said

    Proverbs says that “a longing fulfilled is a tree of life”. Let’s plant one to commemorate St. Pete’s arrival! We are praying that the whole process will be accelerated and that your application will be moved to the top of the pile. God always does more than we ask! We love you!

  3. Mama Mary said

    See you on Friday!

Leave a Reply

