Rejoicing

July 14, 2008

It was Friday afternoon, I checked my email as I always do, and I had an email from Tracy, the finacial person at CWA. She writes me every Friday to update me on where we are finacially with our agency fees. I really wasn’t expecting anything. Over the past week, God had really been reminding me that this whole adoption is still HIS.

Trusting in His provision through people is a tough balance. It is easy to put my hope and faith in people, in their resources. But, what God has showed me over the last week is that it really does come back to Him and how HE stirs in the hearts of people to give and how much to give. And if I trust Him, He will provide in the most unlikely of ways…really so the glory can go back to Him as He reminds me that He will do more than I could ask or imagine.

So, back to the email. It read, “Congratulations, Kate. You now have enough money to go on to the next phase of the adoption process.” I couldn’t believe it. Just last week, we were nowhere NEAR what we needed. As you can imagine, I was absolutely ecstatic! I ran to tell Steve and was trying to play a trick on him to tell him that we still didn’t have any money, but, if you know me, you know I’m a bad liar and I wear my emotions on my sleeve. I had a smile that I couldn’t wipe off…and I began dancing around the house. So, Steve obviously knew it was something good.

The cool thing is that Steve told me that on that morning, he woke up at 4am with an urge to pray that God would provide the money this week. So, we give Him the praise. Since we now have enough to go to the next step with CWA, we were given access to an online planner that details every single step of our journey of adoption. It was overwhelming to say the least. But, we are so thankful for this agency – I can’t imagine trying to figure all of this out on my own! Our next step is to begin to apply for immigration and a visa for our child. And from there it’s lots of paper work, notaries, official documents, more money and then more waiting.

While Steve and I were eating lunch today, we figured out that we now have 1/8 of the adoption paid for. It is exciting to see how far we’ve come and scary to think about how much more we have ahead. But, this week, we feel God has given us a gift of encouragement and hope to go on. It’s been a reminder that He is in control and $40,000 is nothing to Him. We are excited to see how God continues to provide.

As you know, we never know how much someone gives, but we are told who gives…and we have been blown away by who God is using to help us in this journey. We can truly say that we have been so blessed and encouraged by such amazing support that has already been given to us through prayer, words of encouragement, and financial provision. We are so grateful!

Here are some more updates:

  • Our home study is now able to be completed because of the funds given, so we will be able to begin applying for grants and scholarships in the next month. yay!
  • Hopefully this week we will get our fingerprints done and send them off to immigration

Here are some ways to pray this week:

  • Thank God that the birth mother of our baby chose life
  • Pray for wisdom as we fill out lots of paper work
  • Pray that God would continue to stir in the hearts of people to give as HE wants them to

Until next time, Kate & Steve

7 Responses to “Rejoicing”

  1. Ronnie Lowe said

    WOW!!!! How exciting. I just read this to mom and we are just so thankful. What an encouragement.

  2. cnhutch said

    whoo hoo! that’s so great to hear! 🙂

  3. raesvision said

    Love you – praying.

  4. Katie M said

    This is so exciting! Praise God 🙂

  5. Christine Lile said

    Wow it is encouraging to read this and to be reminded of the Power of Prayer! I and as well as the rest of the family is so happy for you guys! Love you both!

  6. Jennifer Reilly Eaby said

    YAY!!! Congratulations! 🙂 How exciting!

  7. Laurelyn said

    God is filling it..even today! 🙂

Leave a Reply

