Leaving on a Jet Plane…

June 16, 2008

No, not to Russia 🙂 But, to India. Steve and I, along with 15 high school students and another adult leader, our friend Laurelyn, are leaving on Tuesday afternoon for a 2 week missions trip to India. This will be my second trip over there. Last year, Steve and I had the opportunity to serve there, and I have to say it was a life changing experience.

One of the most moving moments of that trip was having the opportunity to actually meet the little boy that we sponsor. His name is Vivek. Steve and I never thought that we would actually get to meet him, but as a result of some last second changes in plans, we were re-routed to end up right in his village. Since we were working in the schools, we knew the chances were good that we would see him. The only thing we had to go on was a small picture of Vivek, but when we arrived, we recognized him immediately. We got to take a picture with him and sit in with him during his classes. I believe that even then, God was stirring in our hearts a passion for adoption.

I’m excited to go over there now, especially with adoption on my mind. I think it will be a good reminder that children are children, no matter where you go. Whether it be here in the US, India or even Russia, all children need to be shown love. I think going to India this year, I will be thinking more about the children…about their story, about their family, if they have parents that love them. I’m sure I’ll want to take them all home with me. 🙂

For those of you who know me, you know how much I love airplanes (note: sarcasm :)) To think that this could potentially be the first of 3 overseas flights in the next year is a little overwhelming. God definitely has a way of allowing us to face our fears, doesn’t He?

We will be hoping to check and update our blog next Monday even though we will be in India. In addition to this, our India trip will have it’s own blog with pictures and daily updates. You can check that out if you’re interested by clicking HERE

Some updates on our adoption:

  • We received our first donations (one to our agency fee and one to our personal fees). We are SO excited about that!!

Prayer Requests:

  • That God would give us peace and patience as we wait for His timing of financial provision
  • For our baby’s birthmother – that she would make wise decisions and love the child in her womb.
  • Praising God for giving us supportive friends and family who love and encourage us through this whole process

Until next time, Kate & Steve.

3 Responses to “Leaving on a Jet Plane…”

  1. Kevin said

    Have a great time in India! I’m praying for you guys.

    kev

  2. msflowe said

    I am so excited about your trip- but, selfishly, I am sad that I will not be able to talk to you for 2 whole weeks! Ugh! I will miss my daily Katie talks. I am thankful that you and Steve are serving the Lord- you are such great examples of godly “livers”. I pray that when you return, your mailbox will be filled with contributions for your baby adoption fund!!!!! I am confident that the Lord will provide. Have a wonderful trip. I will be praying for you all.

  3. Michal said

    I LOVE that you got to meet Vivek! That is such a neat story!!

    I hope the plane ride went well. I am always sick to my stomach for you on the days I know you are flying 🙂

Leave a Reply

